That Rendition to my heart…

“TURN IT OFf”…yells my husband from the drawing room, I ignore him completely. The thing to be ‘turned off’ – the song I am listening to on my phone..on repeat, since 6.30 in the morning, and the reason I ignore him -Arijit Singh. I have a long list of favorite singers, Sonu Nigam being the current #1, followed by Shaan, Arijit, Arman Malik, Shreya and so on and so forth goes back to Rafi Sahab actually, and not necessarily in that order. But let’s come back to the point of this one sided discussion: I mean how can you turn it off when it is Arijit Singh!

This guy has the capability to stop my heart when he sighs in a song! Yes, it is completely true. And, he has that magical quality to his voice and his is not just an immensely gifted voice alone; he can make me feel from elated & to thrilled to be alive to, to be immersed in the depth of heart-breaking sorrow in the same song. 

Well the song in question – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil title track. Believe me, I can hear his lips parting when he sighs in between 2 words, I can hear him smile when he croons ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’ at the end of the first stanza where he asks her to meet in the heavens if not on earth! Also how could you not feel the happiness in his voice when he says, ‘I don’t care if you don’t love me back, my love is complete because I love you deep within from my soul’, and the hurt that hides in his voice when he takes us to the highest of peaks of unrequited love saying that even the pain of heartbreak in love is a coveted prize… 

In those moments, in those absolutely magical moments, I feel and believe completely that the poor guy is singing his heart out to me, for me. And how can you not, given the fact that his voice is practically whispering out sweet nothings in your ears! I for one is absolutely smitten and I just have to close my eyes to feel him serenading me with that haunting voice of his and a warm smile lights up my entire being!

2 thoughts on “That Rendition to my heart…

  1. Nice one Tanuja 😊 I wish I could write something like this 🙄🙄
    U have some real talent gal. Dnt stop and keep writing 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

    P.S Arjit Singh ❤️❤️My fav too 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment